Skip to main content

Substitute Teaching - NCSSA

Substitute Teaching Process

The Educational Service Center of Medina County is a partner with the North Coast Shared Services Alliance (NCSSA) consortium. The NCSSA provides substitute services for schools in Cuyahoga, Lake, Lorain, Medina, Portage, and Summit Counties. Click here to watch an informational video about NCSSA and substitute teaching.  

Visit the NCSSA website at to learn more about the consortium.  Although some of the pre-employment documents can be used to process your employment with both ESCMC and NCSSA, there is some additional paperwork that that needs to be completed for each individual organization.  

Step #1 - Complete an online AppliTrack application.  Once you have completed the AppliTrack application, you will be contacted by a member of the NCSSA team for a phone interview via email.
Step #2 - After your phone interview, a member of our team will reach out to your references.
Step #3 - Selected candidates will be invited to a New Hire Orientation to complete employment paperwork. 

NCSSA Schools: 

Cuyahoga County
Bay Village City Schools

Beachwood City Schools 
Bedford City Schools
Berea City Schools
Brooklyn City Schools
Fairview Park City Schools

GALA (Global Ambassadors Language Academy)

Hawken Schools

Lakewood City Schools
Maple Heights City Schools

Mayfield City Schools
Orange City Schools
Orange Early Childhood Center
Parma City Schools
Rocky River City Schools
Shaker Heights City Schools
South Euclid Lyndhurst City Schools
Stepstone Academy 
St. Francis - Cleveland
Warrensville Heights City Schools 
Westlake City Schools
Lake County
Riverside Local Schools
Wickliffe City Schools 

Lorain County
Avon Lake City Schools
Clearview Local Schools
Firelands Local Schools
Lorain City Schools
Early Learning Center, Lorain County
North Ridgeville City Schools
Sheffield-Sheffield Lake
Vermilion Local Schools

Medina County
Black River Local Schools
Brunswick City Schools 

Portage County
Crestwood Local Schools

Summit County

Barberton City Schools 
Copley-Fairlawn City Schools

Click here to visit NCSSA webpage
Click here to begin NCSSA Application
Bring to Orientation
1. Original IDs -  
 A Passport
           ~ or ~
 Driver's License and 
 Birth Certificate 
           ~ or ~

 Driver's License and
 Social Security Card
2. Copy of FBI and BCI
3. Copy of License
4. Copy of Transcripts
Help with Licensure
OH | ID and ODE Core Instructions:
Step 1 - OH | ID Instructions
Step 2 - Certification Instructions

Teacher License Renewal for Non-ESC Employees and Substitutes
© 2022. Medina County ESC. All Rights Reserved.